Elections 2016

Nova Scotia Municipal Elections

Town of Shelburne Unofficial Election Results:

Mayor Race:


Karen Harris-Mattatall – 505

P.G. Comeau – 266 votes

votes Roy O’Donnell – 169 votes


Councillor Race:
Harold Locke – 629 votes
Rick Davis – 571 votes
Nolan Young – 508 votes
Sheldon Ringer – 473 votes
Robert Sinden – 367 votes
Washington Ruiz –232 votes
Michael Race – 224 votes
Lauren Race – 217 vote
Raymond Davis – 90 votes
66.8% percent of eligible voters voted.

Municipal Elections took place on October 15th, 2016

For information regarding the election please contact the Town's Returning Officer, Daphne Miller

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: 902-875-2991


The Tri-County Regional School Board seats and the Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial (CSAP) seats for this area were all won by acclamation so there will be no School Board election required in the Town of Shelburne in 2016.


The following is the School Board information for the Town of Shelburne:


Tri-County Regional School Board, District 9:

Patricia Nickerson - ACCLAIMED

*No vote required*


African Nova Scotian Member of the TCRSB:

Reverend Michael (Alden) Fells - ACCLAIMED

*No vote required*


Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial CSAP: 

Jeanelle D'Entremont - ACCLAIMED

 Clyde deViller - ACCLAIMED

Donald W. Jacquard - ACCLAIMED

 *No vote required*


Election Period:

October 3 - October 14 from 8:30am to 4:00pm (Mon-Fri)


Shelburne Fire Hall/Community Centre

Firemen's Meeting Room

63 King Street

Advance Poll:

Tuesday, October 11 from 12:00pm to 8:00pm (paper and e-voting available)

Election Day:

Saturday, October 15 from 8:00am to 7:00pm (paper and e-voting available)


The Town of Shelburne will be keeping community members up to date and informed during the election period by regularly posting updates on voter turnout on social media, on our website, and via electronic signage in the town.